For Indiana worker’s compensation cases, the mileage reimbursement rate for travel for medical treatment outside the county of employment, or to attend a medical examination requested by the employer, decreases from $0.40 per mile to $0.36 per mile effective February 22, 2016.
On February 10, 2016, Michael J. Progar presented a continuing education course on behalf of the Claims & Litigation Management Alliance (CLM) on “Practical Professionalism: Ethics, Standards, and Civility” to insurance claims representatives and risk managers in Itasca, Illinois.
A provider or medical records company may charge no more than the following for a copy of a patient’s medical record:
- First 10 pages – $1.00 per page; no per page charge is allowed for the first 10 pages if a labor fee is charged
- Pages 11 through 50 – $0.50 per page
- Pages 51 and higher – $0.25 per page
- Labor fee – $20.00
- Actual costs of mailing
- An additional charge of $10.00 may be collected if the request is for copies to be provided within two working days
- Certification of the medical records – $20.00
760 IAC 1-71-3
A person (including a patient, a health care practitioner, or an attorney) requesting copies of records shall reimburse the facility or the health care practitioner at the time of such copying for all reasonable expenses, including the costs of independent copy service companies, incurred in connection with such copying. For 2015, the maximum charges are:
- Handling charge – $26.77
- Copying pages 1 through 25 – $1.00 per page
- Copying pages 26 through 50 – $0.67 per page
- Copying pages in excess of 50 – $0.33 per page
- Copies made from microfiche or microfilm – $1.67 per page
- Actual postage or shipping charges
For electronic records, retrieved from a scanning, digital imaging, electronic information or other digital format in an electronic document, a charge of 50% of the per page charge for paper copies. This per page charge includes the cost of each CD Rom, DVD, or other storage media.
Records already maintained in an electronic or digital format shall be provided in an electronic format when so requested.
The facility or health care practitioner may charge for the reasonable cost of all duplication of record material or information that cannot routinely be copied or duplicated on a standard commercial photocopy machine such as x-ray films or pictures.
2011 Act 69 changed the interest rates applicable to judgments applicable to civil actions under Wisconsin Statutes 807.01(4), 814.04(4), and 815.05(8). This act set the rate of interest under these statutes at 1% plus the prime interest rate in effect on January 1 and July 1 of each year. The interest rate remains in effect from the date of entry of judgment until the judgment is paid.
If a judgment is entered on or before June 30, the applicable interest rate is the rate in effect on January 1 of that year.
If a judgment is entered after June 30, the applicable rate of interest is the rate in effect on July 1 of that year.
- January 1 to June 30, 2016 – 4.50%
- July 1 to December 31, 2015 – 4.25%
- January 1 to June 30, 2015 – 4.25%
- July 1 to December 31, 2014 – 4.25%
- January 1 to June 30, 2014 – 4.25%
- July 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 – 4.25%
- January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2013 – 4.25%
- July 1 to December 31, 2012 – 4.25%
- January 1 to June 30, 2012 – 4.25%
- December 2 to December 31, 2011 – 4.25%
- Rate in effect until December 1, 2011 – 12%
Section 6-21(a) of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 (235 ILCS 5/6-21(a)), commonly known as the Dram Shop Act, requires that the Illinois Comptroller determine each year the increase or decrease in the liability limits for causes of action brought under the Act, in accordance with the consumer price index-u (CPI-U) published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The Comptroller is required to post the new amounts on the official website by January 31 of each year.
The Comptroller has released the 2016 figures, which are based on an increase in the CPI-U of 0.76%. Following is a summary of the 2016 limits and those for previous years.
- On or after 1/20/2016
- Injury to person or property – $65,990.23
- Loss of means of support or society – $80,654.7
- On or after 1/20/2015
- Injury to person or property – $65,511.99
- Loss of means of support or society – $80,070.21
- On or after 1/20/2014
- Injury to person or property – $65,017.86
- Loss of means of support or society – $79,466.27
- On or after 1/20/2013
- Injury to person or property – $64,057.00
- Loss of means of support or society – $78,291.89
- On or after 1/20/2012
- Injury to person or property – $62,961.47
- Loss of means of support or society – $76,952.91
- On or after 1/20/2011
- Injury to person or property – $61,151.39
- Loss of means of support or society – $74,740.59
The Act provides for a statute of limitations of one (1) year, which is not tolled if the injuries are to a minor.
Separate recoveries may be obtained for personal injury, property damage, and loss of means of support or loss of society when applicable. However, the plaintiff must elect between damages for loss of means of support and loss of society.
Medical expenses incurred on behalf of the injured person are considered personal injury damages. However, medical expenses incurred on behalf of an injured minor or spouse that the parent or non-injured spouse is obligated to pay under the Family Expense Statute may be considered property damage.
The Act applies only to injuries occurring within the State of Illinois. Therefore, the Act does not apply to injuries occurring outside Illinois, even where the gift or sale of alcoholic liquor occurred in Illinois and the injured person is an Illinois resident. On the other hand, a gift or sale of alcoholic liquor that occurred outside of Illinois is actionable under the Act where the injury occurs within Illinois.
The Act provides the sole remedy against operators and owners of tavern premises for any injury caused by or in consequence of intoxication. Illinois does not recognize a common law action for the negligent furnishing of alcoholic beverages that cause intoxication and result in injury. The Act does not apply to social hosts who provide alcoholic beverages to guests.
Effective July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016
- Retrieval Fee – $21.13
- Paper Copies (per page)
- First 25 pages – $1.07
- Pages 26-50 – $0.79
- Pages 51-100 – $0.53
- Pages 101 and above – $0.31
- Microfiche or Microfilm (per page) – $1.58
- Print of an X-ray (per image) – $10.55
- Certification of Copies (if requestor is not patient or a person authorized by the patient) – $8.45
- Actual Shipping Costs
- Any Applicable Taxes